Back in Time: 50’s Marilyn Monroe Makeup Look

Hello, hello, beautiful people,

I have another Back in Time post for you guys. This one is about a very influential woman from the 1950’s. I’m talking about no other than Marilyn Monroe. I’ve been a huge fan of hers and I was dying to do this makeup look. It’s again a very easy look but the lips are a tat less wearable for every day.

To create Marilyn’s glowy skin, I used Catrice’s Prime and Fine Nude Glow Primer on my whole face. Because her skin is so flawless, I used the Catrice cover stick on my blemishes and blended this in with my fake beauty blender from H&M. For foundation I used another mixture of two Catrice foundations, the first on is the HD Liquid Coverage foundation and the second one is the Even Skin Tone Foundation. These gave a medium coverage kind of look so I used my trusty old Liquid Camouflage concealer to conceal any blemishes that were still visible and my under eyes. I set the under eyes with my Catrice Translucent powder and my t-zone I set with the Rimmel Stay Matte powder in the shade 003 Peach Glow.

Once the face was done, I could get into the eyes. Like I said before, this look is very simple. I started with my Essence 2in1 eyeshadow & primer to prime the lids and I set this with a matt highlight shade called 02 Soft Light(1) from the NYX Highlight & Contour Pro Palette. To make the inner corner shiny, like Marilyn’s, I used the shimmery highlight shade from the same palette called 01 Ice Queen(2). I applied this on the inner corner, the inner eyelid and the brow bone. To give the eyes more depth, I used the shade 07 Sculpt(3) in my eye socket, to deepen that I used the shade 06 Toffee(4) and to deepen the outer part of the eye socket I used the shade 08 Hollow(5) from the same Nyx palette.

I then curled my lashes and applied the Essence Lash Princes False lash effect mascara. To give my lashes some extra UMPH, I used the Catrice eyelash fibres to make them look more full. For falsies, I cut a pair of Aliexpress ones in half and applied one half to the outer part of each eye. Marilyn’s makeup artist would cut both lashes in half and use the outer parts on each outer part of the eye. These Aliexpress lashes are made in a way that both corners have shorter hairs than the middle of the lash strip. After I applied my lashes, I used the Essence Kajal Pencil in brownie to line my lash line and to draw my wing. I than used an eye pencil in a brown colour from Only you to draw out a shadow from the lashes on my lower lash line. To accentuate this I used a white pencil from Essence and I also used this on my lower waterline. To accentuate the eyes, I used a red lip liner in the inner corner of my eye. This was something Marilyn did as well.

Moving on to brows, I used the Catrice Slim’Matic Ultra Precise Waterproof Brow Pencil in the shade 020 Medium. This is the perfect shade for my brows. I did draw my brows pretty heavily because that’s how Marilyn’s looked. I also made them very angular and didn’t dram them in completely, as you can see in the pictures. Marilyn’s brows were a lot thinner than mine are so that’s the reason for not drawing them in completely. Her makeup artist made them more angular because that way the face would look more heart shaped. To help achieve that heart shape, I contoured underneath my cheekbones, my jawline and my nose with the shade 07 Sculpt from the same Nyx Contour palette I used before. As blushes I used the light pink shade from the Makeup Revolution Golden Sugar palette. This gives a very glowy look to the cheeks which we need for a Marilyn look. I also applied this on the tip of my nose and above my brows. For highlighter I used the shade 01 Ice Queen again from the Nyx palette. I used this on my nose bridge and underneath my eyes next to the nose. This makes the face appear wider on the top, like a hear shape.

Once the rest of my face was done, I could get into the lips. Marilyn’s lips were her trade mark. She gave a new meaning to big, glossy lips. To achieve her lip look, I used 2 lip liners, 3 lipsticks, 1 powder highlighter and 2 lip glosses. I read somewhere that her makeup artist used different layers of lipstick, gloss and powder, just to make them as juicy and big as possible. I started with the Essence Lip liner in the shade 08 Red Blush, which is a darker red than Marilyn’s actual colour. I used this to outliner my lips. I did overdraw both my upper as lower lip. Marilyn’s cupids bow is almost none existent in some pictures so I elongated my lips and I mad the corners a lot bigger. The first lipstick I used is one from Nyx called Full Throttle. This is used with a lip brush to go over the lip liner, so the outer part of the lips. Next, I used a Catrice lipstick called 350 Mattador to colour in my lips. To brighten the inner part of my lips I used a Freedom Makeup lipstick called 106 Fever. I than blotted my lips using a tissue paper and then started over again. I switched the first lip liner with another brighter red Essence lip liner called 14 Femme Fatale but all the other steps where the same. I didn’t blot afterwards but I did apply the same highlighter I used on my face from the Nyx palette, on the centre of my lower lip. I topped this with a mixture of two lip glosses, both from essence. A clear one called 01 Pure Chic and a shimmery red one called 021 Red Blossom. This made the highlighter disappear a bit so I applied it again. As finishing touch I used the Essence Rock ‘n Doll eyeliner pen to draw out Marilyn’s iconic beauty mark.

That’s it for this one, I hope you enjoyed. If you have any questions, tips or tricks, let me know in the comments. Thank you for reading and until the next one.

Lots of love,

Vero.

2 thoughts on “Back in Time: 50’s Marilyn Monroe Makeup Look

Leave a Reply

