Back in Time: 40’s

Hello, hello, beautiful people,
I’m back with my back in time series but this time it’s a 40’s look. This is probably my favourite look of them all because it’s so easy and effortless. So let’s just get to it shall we.


I started this look with foundation. In the 40’s foundation was supposed to be matt and very light. I used a foundation I got from Aliexpress in the cutest packaging. I know there’s a lot of conversation about the ingredients of Aliexpress makeup but I wanted to get an affordable foundation in a very light shade. I actually really don’t like the consistency of this foundation but the colour for this look is perfect. Do I recommend getting this? No. but I already threw out the foundation and plan to fill the packaging with another foundation. Now back to the makeup, I wanted to use a minimal amount of face products. So like I said I used the foundation all over my skin and as spot and under eye concealer I used the Catrice Liquid Camouflage concealer in the lightest shade. The face should look matt so I used my Kryolan Translucent Powder to set the foundation.


For eyebrows, I wanted to keep my shape but I wanted them to be more fluffy so I used some eyebrow powder also from Aliexpress. I used the tiniest bit of the darker shade on my tail and I used the middle shade on the middle of my brow. I applied this with an angled brush and a very light touch just so all my bald spots were filled.

Next up: the eyes. Like I said before, this is such a simple look. I used my concealer as an eyeshadow base and set it with the Essence Velvet shadow in the shade 03 Smooth Caramel(1). For my transition shade in the crease I used another Essence Velvet shadow in the shade 04 You’re The Greytest(2), which is a very light grey shade. And I fanned out the outer corner with it. I then used another Aliexpress product, an eyeshadow palette. This contains all matt shadows and was perfect for this look because you don’t want any shimmer on your eyes. I used a light taupe shade(3) over the grey to deepen up the crease and I darkened that a bit with an even darker shade(4). I used the Essence Kajal pencil in black to tight line my upper lash line and I used the Essence Super Fine liner to draw a line on the upper lash line. This one is a bit more grey than black so it’s perfect. If you don’t have anything like this liner, use some dark brown/grey eyeshadow to line your lash line. I curled my lashes and applied the Benefit Bad Gal Lash mascara on only the top lashes. For falsies, I used the Primark Natural lashes with the glue they came with.


To contour my face, I used the Action face palette. I used the lightest contour shade to contour my cheekbones a bit and my nose. As blush I used the lightest fair left pink shade because that’s very similar to what they used back in the day and for highlight I used one that doesn’t have any shimmer from Catrice Limited Edition Check & Tweed in CO1 Flagg The Union Jack.


Lastly for lips, I went with a bright pink. I already used reds in the two previous looks so I wanted to go with a different colour for this one. Coral would’ve been a good colour as well but I don’t like that on me. I used the Essence Lip liner in the shade 12 Wish Me a Rose, topped it with the Essence Longlasting Lipstick 13 Love Me. And to make the lips look matt, I topped them with the Nyx Soft Matt Lip Cream in the shade Antwerp.

That’s it for this one, I hope you enjoyed. If you have any questions, tips or tricks, let me know in the comments. Thank you for reading and until the next one.
Lots of love,
Vero.

Leave a Reply

