Sparkly Festival Makeup look/tutorial

Hello, hello, beautiful people,
Summer is almost upon us and it comes with a ton of music festivals, which gives the opportunity to go all out with your makeup. I came up with this affordable makeup look which I really hope you’ll like. So let’s get started.

 

Because I use a bunch of shimmery/metallic eyeshadows, I decided to do my eyes first so any fall out could be cleaned before applying foundation. I started with the H&M White Eye Pen to prime my eyelids. I used this because I wanted a metallic look and I don’t own any white metallic eyeshadows so I set this with a matt white shadow(1) from my Aliexpress eyeshadow palette. I used the shimmery highlight shade(2) in the top left corner from the Revolution Contour palette on the inner part of my eyelid to brighten up my eye and make it more shimmery.

 

Let’s get some colour happening: from the MUA Poptastic eyeshadow palette I used a light pink shade with the name Shocking Pink(3) on the middle of my eyelid and I darkened up that colour with the Cherry Sour(4) shadow from the same palette. On the outer part of the eyelid I used a mixture of the shadows Cool Cyan(5) and Blue Suede(6) from the same MUA palette, which are two light blue shades, one brighter than the other. To darken the crease I used the shadow Pizzazz Purple(7) from the same palette and to darken the outer part of the crease and the outer corner of the lid I used the shadow Electric Purple(8) from the MUA palette. I tight lined the upper lash line with the black Essence Long-lasting Eye pencil and used the same Revolution highlighter to highlight the brow bone. I drew out my wing with the Essence Waterproof Superfine liner and drew it in completely with the Essence Cushion liner.


Once the eyes were done, I jumped into my face base. I didn’t use a primer which I regret. I recommend using an illuminating primer if you have dry or normal skin which will give a beautiful natural glow to the skin. If you have oily skin, just stick to a pore minimalizing primer or an oil reducing one. I used a mixture of my favourite summer foundations. The first one is a BB cream from Catrice. Not going to lie, this is pretty old but it still works for me, the only problem I have with it is that it’s too dark for my skin tone. That’s why I mix it with the Rimmel Match Perfection foundation. Both of these have SPF in them, which is really important if you’re hanging around in the sun all day. I applied my Catrice Liquid Camouflage concealer on my blemishes and the Nyx HD Studio concealer on my under eyes. To set everything, I used my Catrice Translucent powder. This does give flashback when you take pictures but this makes my makeup last longer.


My base is set so let’s do some brows, I used a Waterproof brow pencil from Catrice. I find that this pencil stays very well throughout the day, especially in warm weather and I’m sweating like a sinner in church. I did set this lightly with my Catrice eyebrow gel because this keeps them in shape.


Going back to the eyes, I went back into my Revolution highlighter to highlight my inner corner of my eye. I used the same pink shade on the inner half of my under eye, on the outer half I used the same blue shadows and on the outer corner I used the dark purple again. I curled my lashes and applied the Catrice Rock Couture Waterproof Mascara. In a previous post I talked about how much I disliked this product but I found a way which makes this apply a lot easier. I applied this on top and very lightly on my bottom lashes. Let’s talk falsies, I used some pretty old ones I found in my collection. These are the Eylure Katy Perry Color Pop Lashes in KA-POW. These were the first falsies I ever received and the best I have. Now back in the day when I didn’t know how to apply falsies, I cut these too short for my eyelids but I love these babies so much so I just stuck with them. They have some purple accents through them, they are extremely easy to apply and look gorgeous. I did apply them with my absolute favourite lash glue from Duo. I have no idea if these lashes are still being sold but if you can get your hands on them, you should buy them, they rock!


Time for some contouring and highlighting. For contour I used the Same Revolution Contour palette but this time I used the lightest cold brown shade(1) on cheeks, nose, temples and jawline. I bronzed with the Revolution Ultra Blush palette matt warm brown shade(2) on cheeks, forehead and jawline. For highlight I used the same highlight I used on my eyes(3) and the lightest one from the Revolution Ultra Blush palette(4) and the Nyx Duo Chromatic highlighter(5). I obviously wanted my highlight to pop. I applied this above my brows, cheekbones, nose bridge and cupids bow. For blush I used the lightest pink shade(6) from the Revolution Ultra Blush palette. This has shimmery in it which added even more highlight to my cheeks.

 
Now it’s time for the fun part: glitter and glamour. I used the Nyx glitter primer to apply all the rhinestones and glitter on my forehead and cheeks. I started with the blue triangle kind of shape in the middle of my forehead. Then I applied my rhinestones, which I got from the craft section from Action. I started with the ones between my brows and after, the ones above my brows. I did one at a time, meaning I did one rhinestone on the left and I then applied the same shape of rhinestone on the right and so on and so on. This way I could see where every single one was going and if they looked even. Once the rhinestones where on my forehead I moved on to glitter. I used three glitters from my 6 craft glitter cylinder from Action and the purple glitter is actual cosmetic glitter but I can’t remember where I got it from. I mixed each individual colour of glitter with the same colour of chunky craft glitter which I also got from Action. I than applied the Nyx glue on my cheeks and very quickly applied all glitter colours with a sponge applicator. You can go all out with the glitter, it really doesn’t matter, just go for it.

 Once I was happy with the result, I moved on to my lips. I had great difficulty to find a lipstick colour to go with this look. I didn’t know if I wanted to go matt or glossy. I didn’t know if I wanted to go with nude, bright, red or dark. I was really struggling. I think you can go with any lip shade you like. I even recommend going with a very vibrant one like yellow. Just make it pop just like the rest of your look. I decided to keep it calm with my Catrice Shine Appeal Fluid Lipstick Intense in the shade 040 Rose your Voice! This is a pretty nude shade but it’s a gloss so it still ads that something, something. If you know what I mean.

That’s it for this one, I hope you enjoyed. If you have any questions, tips or tricks, let me know in the comments. Thank you for reading and until the next one.
Lots of love,
Vero.

Leave a Reply

