Back In Time: 30’s

Hello, hello, beautiful people,

I’m back with my second instalment from my Back In Time Series. This time it’s going to be about the 30’s. I absolutely love the makeup and hair looks from this time. The makeup is pretty natural, there are no glitters just a very quick and simple eyeshadow look and a dark lip. Perfect for any occasion.

I started off with priming my face using the Essence Instant Matt makeup spray. I also used this as a setting spray at the end. I used the Catrice Cover Stick to cover up my blemishes and blended this with a makeup sponge. Using a mixture of the Rimmel Stay Matte foundation, the Catrice HD Liquid Coverage foundation and the Catrice All Matt Plus foundation as my base. It’s very important you use matt products, because back in the day, the face was completely matt. I then used the Catrice Liquid Camouflage concealer on blemishes, making sure the face was flawless. And the Essence Camouflage concealer, I used under my eyes. I backed my under eyes with the Kryolan Translucent Powder and set my t-zone with it. the rest of my face I set with the Essence Get Picture Ready Powder.

I then did my eyebrows. In the 30’s, eyebrows were really thin, dark, round and heavy. I am not blessed with thin brows so I went with what nature gave me. I did try to round them a bit and drew them in very dark with the Essence brow pencil in Brown. I set them with the Catrice eyebrow gel and made sure everything was flat and not fluttery.

Now going into eyes. I started off with the Catrice Eyeshadow primer to prime my eyes and set that with the lightest(1) shade from my Kryolan Contour palette. I used the shade Naked(2) from the Urban Decay Naked palette as a transition shade in my crease and to deepen that up, I used the shade Buck(3) from the same Urban Decay palette and blended them together. I then went over my eyelid with the light pink shade(4) from my Revolution Contour palette to make sure it was still nude and not brown looking and also used this as my brow bone highlighter. I then used the darkest shade (5) from the Kryolan palette to deepen out the crease some more. I used the Essence Kajal Pencil in Black to line my lash line and blended this out with an angled brush with a matt black(6) eyeshadow from the MUA Romantic Efflorescen palette.

I curled my lashes and applied the NYC Sky Rise Mascara topped with the Catrice Lash Boost Fibres and topped again with the Maybelline One By One Volume Mascara. I applied some Essence Single Lashes on the outside of my lash line with the Duo Lash Adhesive and that’s it for the eyes.

Going back to the face, I contoured my face and nose with the Revolution Contour palette shade(1) and highlighted with the same pink shade(2) we used before and a bit of the glittery shade(3) in the same palette. I used the Benefit Dandelion blush but not too much because blush wasn’t used as much in the 30’s as now.

For lips I used the Essence Lipliner in the shade Red Blush and made sure the cupid bow looked short on the top and long in horizontal length which is the total opposite from the 20’s. I topped it with the Essence Longlasting Lipstick in the shade 21 Trés Chic but this wasn’t matt enough to I topped this with the Nyx Soft Matte Cream in the shade Madrid and some translucent powder to make sure the lips looked matt just like in the actual 30’s.

That’s it for this one, I hope you enjoyed. If you have any questions, tips or tricks, let me know in the comments. Thank you for reading and until the next one.

Lots of love,

Vero.

Leave a Reply

