Back In Time: The 20’s

Hello, hello, beautiful people,

I’m going to start a new series called Back In Time. I came up with this idea when I was searching for face charts and I found a couple in my makeup handbook from school. In this particular class we had to recreate looks from the 20’s, 30’s, 50’s and 80’s. I figured I could recreate them again and blog about them, so here I am. I’m going to start off with the 20’s. I actually skipped this class so this was my very first time trying it, I’m not completely convinced about it but hey let’s just get to it.

Because the 20’s where a time of smoky eyes, I started off with the eyes. I used a black eyeshadow crayon from H&M(1) and drew a thick line on my upper lash line and smudged it out with a brush. I then used a mix of two blue colours from the Urban Decay Full Spectrum palette. I used the shades Blindsided(2) and Metamorphosis(3). This I applied on my eyelid but not too close to the lash line. I created the shape I needed for this look which was a straight line halfway on the side of the bridge of my nose until the eyebrow. I then created a more rounded shape above the crease of the eye and made sure everything was blended very well. I went in with the shade Minx(4) from the same Urban Decay palette and darkened the outside of the crease and the line on the bridge of my nose and blended them again. I used the shade Blackout(5) from the Urban Decay Naked 2 palette to go over the black line we blended out earlier and to make sure it was dark enough. I also cleaned up the edges to make sure it was the right shape.

Once I felt everything was blended enough, I went into foundation. I used the Catrice Prime And Fine Pore Refining base on my nose (very carefully), chin and forehead. I then used the P.S. concealer from Primark on my blemishes and blended it out with a sponge. I went in with a mixture of the Catrice 24H Made To Stay Foundation, their lightning drops and their Even Skin Tone Foundation. I applied this with my fingers and blended it out with a sponge. On the bridge of the nose, I used a concealer brush to have more precision and control. I used the Essence Get Picture Ready concealer under my eyes and very carefully blended this with my sponge and fingers. I set my under eyes with the Catrice Translucent Loose powder as well as my chin, nose and forehead and I set my cheeks with the Essence Compact Powder.

Going into brows, I used my Aliexpress brow kit from the brand Tutu Professional. I used and angled brush and the last 2 shades to fill them in. I made my brows really dark because that’s what the women did in those days. They did have thinner and rounder brows than mine but we all have to work with what nature gave us. Just make sure they are rounded and really harsh and the front is squared.

 

Going back into the eyes, I used an Essence eyeliner to draw a line on my bottom lash line and used a white liner on the waterline. I smudged the liner a bit with the same black eyeshadow we used before. I curled my lashes and applied the Essence Lash Princess False Lash Effect mascara (green colour) on the bottom lashes and the Lash Princess Volume mascara on the top lashes. I found my lashes weren’t popping like they were in the 20’s so I applied some falsies from Aliexpress with some Duo lash adhesive.

Going back to the face, I contoured the rest of my nose using the contour shade from the H&M face palette and contoured my cheekbones just a bit. Women actually only contoured their nose in the 20’s but I wanted a bit more shape to my face. They also didn’t use blush or highlighter so I skipped both. I just sprayed some Nyx matt setting spray and that was that.

 

Last up are the lips. I used the Catrice Limited Edition Neo-Natured CO3 Woodlands Liberry lip liner to outline the lips. The shape that was most used in those days was heart shape. So make sure you have a short cupids bow and make your upper lip look like a heart. The bottom lip should look rounded as well and make it as small as your upper lip. I topped the liner with the Catrice Neo-Natured C03 Woodlands Liberry lip stick and topped that with the Nyx Soft Matte Lip Cream in the shade Budapest to make it matt.

That’s it for this one, I hope you enjoyed. If you have any questions, tips or tricks, let me now in the comments. Thank you for reading and until the next one.

Lots of love,

Vero.

Leave a Reply

