Black & White Makeup Look/Tutorial

Hello, hello, beautiful people,

I recently saw this picture on Instagram, Pinterest, WeHeartIt,… (I can’t remember) of a black, grey and white glossy lip. The image got stuck in my head and I wanted to recreate it. I honestly have no clue where I saw it and I couldn’t find it so I just winged it. I knew I wanted my face makeup to be matt and everything else shiny so let’s get started.

I started off with the eyes because I wasn’t completely sure how I wanted them. I used an H&M eyeshadow stick in white(1) as an eyeshadow base and used a white shadow(2) from my Only You Large Makeup Palette to set it. This shade was a lot more shimmery then expected but I went with it. I then used a metallic grey shade(3) from my Morphe Brushes 35W Palette in my whole crease. To darken it up, I used a dark grey shade (4) from my Only You Large Makeup Palette. I tried to use the black shade from my Morphe palette to deepen the colour some more, but it’s just not pigmented (very disappointing). So I used the matt black shade(5) from my Only You Palette. I used this in the outer corner of my eye and the crease. I really wanted to create an ombré look but I also wanted the outer part to be as black as the night.

After all the eyeshadow, I cleaned up the fall out and moved on to my face. I didn’t use a primer because my moisturizer was still very sticky and I am lazy as fuck. I went straight in with a mixture of the Catrice All Matt Plus foundation in 010 Light Beige and the Catrice 24H Made To Stay Makeup foundation in 005 Ivory Beige. I used these two because they both promise a matt look and I applied them with a fluffy kabuki brush. I still had some blemishes poking through so I used the Primark PS Concealer stick in the shade Ivory to cover those up and for my under eyes I used the Essence Camouflage Full Coverage Concealer in the shade 05 Ivory. I spoke about this Essence concealer before and I hated it, but I gave it another shot and I’ve been loving it as an under eye concealer. I used my Catrice Loos Transparent powder to bake my under eyes and set the foundation on my face.

I then used 3 shades from my Morphe Brush 35W Palette to colour in my brows. I used shade 1 on the front part of my brow. Shade 2 I used in the middle and a bit on the tail and shade 3 is the darkest so I used it on the tail of my brow. I later realised my brows looked way too warm so I apologize for that. I didn’t have the best lighting that day. I did use a gel to set my brows.

Going back to the eyes, I used a white eyeliner from Paris Berlin on my under eyes and used the darkest grey shade from my Only You palette underneath the liner to make it pop more and to connect the under eye with the upper lid. I used an Essence Kajal Pencil in the shade Black to darken my tight line and I drew out my winged liner with the Essence Super Fine Liner. I coloured in my wing with the Essence Liquid Ink (my favourite, ever!). I curled my lashes and applied some Essence Get Big Lashes Volume Curl Mascara on the top ones. I then used some white grease paint from Kryolan to make my false lashes white. These lashes are from Aliexpress and I used some Duo Lash Adhesive to glue them on.

I used the darkest grey eyeshadow to contour my face. I used it on my temples, cheeks, jaw and nose. I went over it with the first shade I used on my brows to make it softer and to bronze out my face a bit. I didn’t use highlighter or blush because I wanted my face to be as matt as possible.

Then for the lips, the belles of the ball, I went it with an Essence Limited Edition white Lipliner all over my upper lip. You could use a white kohl pencil. I found that this wasn’t white enough so I used the same white grease paint from Kryolan to make it as white as I could. I then used the same black Kajal Pencil from Essence to line my under lip. I went in with a NYX Suede Cream Lipstick in the shade Stone Fox on the middle part of my upper and lower lip. I blended this in with the white grease paint on the top lip. I used a black liquid lipstick from the brand Dragon (Aliexpress) on the outer part of my lower lip and blended this in with the grey. To top everything off, I used an Essence XXXL Shine Lipgloss in the shade 01 Pure Chic, which is a thick clear lipgloss.

That’s it for this one. Thank you for reading, I hope you enjoyed. If you have any questions let me know in the comments. Until the next one.

Lots of love,

Vero.

Leave a Reply

